Back to Blog
Comparisons

Pictory vs TubeGen (2026): Which Is Better for YouTube?

Pictory vs TubeGen compared on pricing, video length limits, faceless YouTube features and refunds, using each vendor's own pages (checked 25 Oct 2026).

TubeChef Team
October 26, 2026
6 min read

Short answer: TubeGen is built specifically for faceless YouTube channels. It has a niche finder, scene images and animation, a thumbnail studio and an editor, and starts at $149/month (or $27+/month if you bring your own API keys). Pictory is a general-purpose AI video agent for marketing, training and social video. It's much cheaper (from $25/month billed annually), but videos generated from a script or URL are limited to 30 minutes. Both say they don't offer refunds. All figures below come from each vendor's own website, checked on 25 October 2026.

Disclosure: this comparison is published by TubeChef, which competes with both. We only use what each vendor states publicly and link to the source.

Pictory vs TubeGen at a glance

Pictory TubeGen
Built for Marketing, training, education and social video ("AI video agent") Faceless YouTube channels
Starts from $25/month billed annually (Starter) $149/month (Starter); BYOP from $27+/month
Other plans Professional $35, Teams $119 (billed annually); Enterprise custom Pro $297, Premium $849 per month
Video length Script/URL-to-video up to 30 min on paid plans Editor edits and exports videos up to 30 min
Script length Not stated as a word limit 3,000 (BYOP/Starter), 10,000 (Pro), 20,000 (Premium) words
YouTube-specific tools Aspect ratios for YouTube and other platforms Niche finder, title generator, thumbnail studio
Avatars Yes Yes
Stock media Stock visuals selectable Storyblocks stock footage
Free trial Yes (14 days on the pricing page) Not stated on the pricing page
Refunds No (pricing FAQ) No (pricing FAQ)

Sources: pictory.ai/pricing and pictory.ai; tubegen.ai/pricing and tubegen.ai. All checked 25 Oct 2026.

Pricing

Pictory shows its prices per month, billed annually: Starter $25, Professional $35 and Teams $119, with Enterprise on request. The page shows higher struck-through "was" prices, so these are current offers. Language support differs by plan (7 languages on Starter, 29 on Professional and Teams, according to the pricing page).

TubeGen has four tiers: BYOP from $27+/month (you supply your own AI provider keys), Starter $149, Pro $297 and Premium $849 per month. Higher tiers raise the maximum script length and how much animation you get per video. According to its FAQ, unused credits roll over for one billing cycle.

Takeaway: if cost matters most, Pictory is cheaper. TubeGen is priced for people running YouTube channels as a business.

Making a faceless YouTube video

TubeGen follows a YouTube channel's workflow. You find a niche and model a channel's style, write the script, generate an image for each scene (and animate them), add stock footage, avatars, music and overlays, assemble everything in the editor, and make the thumbnail.

Pictory starts from a description or a source (script, article, URL, slides, images, audio). The agent plans the script and scenes, you review a preview, then refine by chat or in the editor. It's quick for explainers and repurposing content, but it has no YouTube research tools such as a niche finder.

Takeaway: TubeGen fits faceless YouTube better. Pictory fits turning existing content into video better.

Video length

Both top out at about 30 minutes for a generated or edited video, according to their own pages. If you make long documentaries (45 minutes to several hours), neither is built for it. See TubeChef alternatives for long-form options, including TubeChef, which renders videos up to 2 hours long (see the script generator).

Which should you choose?

  • Choose Pictory if you're a marketer, educator or trainer, your videos are under 30 minutes, and you want the lowest entry price.
  • Choose TubeGen if you run faceless YouTube channels, want niche research, thumbnails and animation in one place, and the $149+/month price fits.
  • Consider TubeChef if your videos are long-form, or you want to render locally and in bulk (VIP and Lifetime plans). Compare on our pricing.

FAQ

Is TubeGen better than Pictory?
For faceless YouTube channels, TubeGen has more YouTube-specific tools (niche finder, thumbnail studio, animation). For general business video and repurposing articles or slides, Pictory is cheaper and more flexible.

Which is cheaper, Pictory or TubeGen?
Pictory starts at $25/month billed annually. TubeGen's Starter plan is $149/month, with a BYOP option from $27+/month if you bring your own API keys (25 Oct 2026).

Can either make videos longer than 30 minutes?
Pictory's script/URL-to-video is capped at 30 minutes, and TubeGen's editor exports up to 30 minutes, according to their sites.

Do Pictory or TubeGen offer refunds?
Both pricing FAQs say no refunds (25 Oct 2026).

Is there a free trial?
Pictory offers a free trial. TubeGen's pricing page doesn't mention one.

Prices and limits were checked on each vendor's website on 25 October 2026 and may change.